Forum

Embed/iframe/something inside shared stimulus?

Greetings all,

I'm very new to TAO and rather excited about the possibility of having institution-wide assessment data that genuinely reflects the learning needs of the students! Many thanks for everybody's hard work. Open source truly is King.

Before I embark on persuading the rest of the leadership team, I'd like to have a proof of concept test that closely aligns with our curriculum and demonstrates that TAO is more powerful than some of our existing, proprietary systems (which are also fragmented across faculties).

To give it a little 'wow' factor, I'm envisaging some items which ask questions based around the well-loved HTML5 PHET simulations (eg. https://phet.colorado.edu/sims/html/bending-light/latest/bending-light_en.html)

I realise I could simply link to these but I would prefer to host them myself (they too are open source), so that we can simply 'whitelist' the TAO server on student devices, but prevent access to the rest of the web, during assessments.

I have downloaded and played around with the example shared stimulus archive from here and can change images, text, etc, but I was hoping somebody here might be able to advise on the possibility of embedding something more exciting!

Kind regards,

Tim

Comments

• Hello Tim,

I had been looking at HTML5 PhET and as far as i can tell TAO and HTML PhET are two entirely different systems. In TAO-Land, a stimulus is an instructional part of an item, really just a partial document. It doesn't interact with the result server in any way. Therefore, even if you managed to embed items into a stimulus somehow, they would never produce any results.

I wonder if PhET follows the QTI standard or if their items could be converted to QTI. They are listed as an affiliate on the IMS member page but I wouldn't be able to tell you, how far this affiliation goes.